soup du jour

I have been seriously obsessed with soup this fall. I already shared this tomato soup recipe with you all a couple of weeks ago.  That tomato soup used to have my heart. It was the soup to end all soups…

…Until I met butternut squash, that is. And the little booger stole my heart at first taste. I am obsessed. I’ve made it multiple times. In fact, I have some in the fridge waiting to be eaten after I post this. I originally had it at my mom’s house (thanks, mom). Then it became my mission to make this soup and spread the word that this is now the soup to end all soups. You’re welcome.

I do make a couple revisions to the aforementioned recipe:

-Add 8 baby carrots to the apple/onion sautee
-Use 2 cups water instead of 2 1/2 cups water (we like our soups thick)
-Use 2% milk instead of heavy cream
-Use dried sage instead of fresh (I have it on hand)

photo 2-1

photo 1

Ok, are veggies not your thing? Do you need some meat in your life? I have a pretty darn good beef & sausage chili recipe for you… One that the big frijol named a top contender. Again, thanks to my mom for the recipe. However, I used my creative license to make some changes to the recipe as follows:

Beef & Sausage Chili

1 lb ground beef
3/4 lb ground sausage
1 small yellow onion
1 green pepper
1 1/2 (each can 28 oz) cans tomatoes with liquid. I realize 1 1/2 is obnoxious but that’s what I do. Use the whole two if you want.
1 (8oz) can tomato sauce
1 (15.5oz dark red kidney beans)
3 tablespoons chili powder (to taste – I usually add more)
2 teaspoons cayenne
salt and pepper (to taste)

[NOTE on canned foods. Many companies use a canning process that adds BPA to the liner. Yes, that means you end up ingesting BPA, which is bad for your body. I doubt this is news to you but I suggest you find a company that does not use BPA in the can liner. I buy Eden Organic cans found at Whole Foods.]

Cook beef and sausage. Remove from pan to dry on paper towel.

Add chopped onion and green pepper to the pan and saute (saute in the grease of the meat pan. Nice & healthy)

Place canned tomatoes and tomato sauce in the blender and puree. You can make it as chunky as you want but the big frijol doesn’t like pieces of tomato in his soup so I make it pretty smooth. (Note: Don’t drain tomatoes)

Put the tomato mixture in a pot with the sauteed onion/green pepper, kidney beans (don’t drain), cooked meat, and seasonings. Bring to a boil then reduce heat and simmer for about an hour.  Serve with cheese on top, avocado, whatever floats your boat.

photo-125 copy

Ok, so you want something with meat but not quite ready to commit to clogging some arteries with the ground beef and sausage? You could try this tortilla soup recipe with shredded chicken on top. I made this for the bean family last night, and it went over with a thumbs-up. You should know that this is a brothy recipe. Also, I used New Mexico chiles instead of guajillo chiles. Then I threw in one small arbol for a little heat. It definitely came out spicy but yummm.

photo-125

Any other soup lovers out there? Anyone have any recipes to share? If you end up making some of these soups definitely let me know which one is your favorite. I hope you guys are making today a good one. I’m off to enjoy me some butternut squash love in a bowl.

xo, lw

PS: If you’re not watching the show Scandal, you should start. So good.

2 thoughts on “soup du jour

talk to me

