shreddin on a sugar low

Hey readers, I don’t know if I ever officially told you that I signed up for the Chicago marathon. I know I mentioned the possibility in this post but I never followed up. It’s happening in October. My actual training will start in May. But before the running training commences, I am striving to become a little bit healthier. I need to be in tip-top shape before I endure the grueling task at hand.
I’ve made two changes in my lifestyle. 

The first change? Strength training. I admit that in the past couple of years my strength training has been pretty much non-existent. In college, I loved group power and body pump. But I haven’t been to one of those classes in years. I would get on a weight kick periodically but it’d never last for more than a week or so. That needs to change… That needed to change yesterday. Fortunately, my awesome older bro gave me the best Christmas gift last year. I got one month membership to Shred 415. What is Shred? It’s a gym. But more than just a gym; Shred isn’t your average, run-of-the-mill LA Fitness (no offense to LA Fitness). It consists solely of coached classes. Each class is one hour long. Shredding is all interval training, which means alternating high-intensity cardiovascular training with strength training. This is absolutely perfect for me! For sixty minutes, my mind is focused on pushing myself to get stronger and faster. The interval concept allows me to really go hard for a short period of time then enjoy the quick recovery period. I love having a coach there challenging my fellow shredders and me. Sometimes it’s nice to have somebody telling you exactly what to do. At this point, I am planning on attending three classes each week. I leave the workouts feeling exhausted but, at the same time, oddly refreshed. My free month expires in April so I’ll have to reevaluate at that time. I’m hoping the big frijol and I can make a few tweaks in the budget and squeeze in a membership for me! Actually, he’s going to join me at a class soon so maybe he’ll be interested, too. If there are any Chicago folks reading this, you should totally give Shred a try! Let me know if you’re interested and we’ll do a class together.

shred
What’s the other change?

I’m on a sugar low. It’s no secret that I have a sweet tooth…. A wicked one. I got it from my pops. He can easily put down an entire row of Oreos in one sitting. Though Oreos are not my weapon of choice, I know I can throw back quite a few, as well. I relish anything chocolate. The dessert the I don’t love is ice cream (gasps). That one stumps people. I think it’s just too cold. And I also dislike puddings, custards and mouses. Now that I think about it, those desserts are kind of like warm ice cream. Maybe it’s a texture thing. Or maybe I just don’t like desserts one has to eat with a spoon. I’m digressing. Sugar low? Yep, I’m cutting out sweets cold turkey. I have decided that no good (beyond those few seconds of chewing and bliss) comes from eating sweets. I’m not doing this for a finite amount of time. And I definitely do not expect this to be any sort of permanent life change. It’s more just a way to motivate myself to eat healthier in general. I anticipate this sugar cleanse to last for a couple months or so. I may or may not sneak just a few bites here and there. :) I know my good friend Abby has successfully done this about three years ago. She will be my inspiration! Fortunately, my hub is very healthy so no temptations will be coming from him. He doesn’t even really like sweets. He snacks on chicken breast.

adios oreo. but happy 100th birthday.
There you have it. That’s what I’ve been up to. Eating healthier and exercising my body in new ways. What have you guys been up to?

xo, ltw
2 thoughts on “shreddin on a sugar low

  1. I want to do a class with you!! :( We'd have so much fun! Proud of you for the sugar thing! I have not bought 'sugary' things in a month or so and I don't crave it anymore! That being said, Drew's friends are visiting this weekend and I am about to make oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. Oops.

  2. Pingback: on the bandwagon | the beanstalk

talk to me

