Easter in the city

I love seasons. I especially love spring. Spring in the city is heavenly (when it’s not raining, that is). I enjoy strolling down the busy streets seeing people dressed in bright colors and sidewalks lined with budding flowers. I love the boats slowly emerging in the harbor on Lake Michigan. I love the new-beginning feeling of spring. 
Our home is adorned with beeeeautiful spring flowers.
lovely
Easter lillies. Star-gazers.
tulips, always a spring favorite
view of DuSable Harbor from our balcony

Spring commences with Easter in my mind. Despite having to work Easter weekend this year, I was still able to participate in some festivities. I made sweet bean an Easter basket! This was my first time putting together an Easter basket, and I have to admit it was quite basic. I realize that I just wrote a post about the dangers of too much sugar! You may think I am being hypocritical here…. Of course, I still believe there are select occasions where I am in favor of indulging that sweet tooth. Easter. Valentine’s Day. Birthdays. Halloween. Thanksgiving. Christmas. We gotta have a free pass on those days, right? But the other 359 days? I’m kicking the habit. Anyway, Lu doesn’t indulge his sweet tooth very much so I just got him a few choice candies to savor. 

Easter basket!
Easter basket.

Lu with his cute lil basket

Yes, that’s a pup and not a bunny. I couldn’t find a stuffed bunny that I liked so I opted for the pooch. Who doesn’t love a cute puppy? 
Lu and I began Easter morning practicing our second religion, exercise. Lu joined me for his first Shred class. I had so.much.fun with him in the class with me! While he enjoyed Shred and thinks it’s a great workout for me, he is staying loyal to his crossfit. Those Walker boys and that crossfit are a match made in heaven.
After Shred, we went to a nice brunch at Atwood Cafe in the loop. It’s located in the historic Hotel Burnham. The building was designed by John Root of Root and Burnham architects who dominated Chicago architecture in the late 1800s. You can read about Root and Burnham in Devil in the White City. Have you read it? I recommend. “Make no little plans. They have no magic to stir men’s blood and probably will not themselves be realized.” –Daniel Burnham. Fun fact: Lu and I loved the Rookery building, another Root and Burnham design, as a wedding venue. Frank Lloyd Wright remodeled the lobby in the early 1900s, which is where the weddings are held. We couldn’t seriously consider the Rookery because the maximum guest count was 100 people and we had 150 attending. But I think it would have been a magical place.

In front of our building before brunch. Wrigley in the background.

The brunch was delicious. My Easter Sunday natural high was smashed when I realized the disaster that awaited me on my drive to work. The traffic was some of the worst I have EVER seen. Easter Sunday at 1:30 PM?! It was like rush hour on Friday. What should take about 25 minutes door-to-door maximum took almost one hour and 25 minutes. The Kennedy Expressway was pretty much a parking lot. What I couldn’t figure out was where was everybody going on Easter afternoon?! If I didn’t have to work I would have been far, far away from the torments of being stuck in traffic on such a gorgeous holiday.

These pretty trees made the walk into work a little easier

I hope everybody had a joyous Easter weekend! And I want to wish my momma (the best mom in the world) a very happy happy birthday! Today is her birthday and we will be celebrating!! I love you, mom!

ltw
talk to me

