summer begins!

I loved summers as a child just as every little kid does. I loved the last day of school, cleaning out our desks and looking forward to the long months ahead with not even one care in the world. Pure bliss. 
My earliest memory of summer vacation comes from our old home on Calvin Ave. I had to have been younger than 4th grade. I remember getting home on the first day of summer, going to the fridge for a snack and thinking “I’m free!” I realize that sounds like a pretty vague memory but I vividly remember standing in front of our fridge thinking that thought. I remember picking dandelions in our neighbor’s yard, the one who was either too lazy to care for her lawn or was against using fertilizer. It was an elementary school girl’s dream. I remember drawing with chalk and running through sprinklers. I remember going to art camp in Willow Creek Park. Of course when I was older, I remember cruising in the 4Runner. And then there was boating, boating and more boating. During the college years, summertime in Boulder was one of my favorite times. 
This year, summer is quite different. Because there is no summer! These summer months will be like all other months except hotter. Being an adult is not all it’s cracked up to be.. Well, I suppose it’s not so bad. I was off work this weekend and could enjoy the beautiful holiday weekend. 
Saturday morning I woke up and went to the Green City farmer’s market in Lincoln Park with my momma. I love farmer’s markets despite the steep prices. There is something about local, fresh produce that makes me swoon. We made a few laps to browse the inventory before making our purchases. I got ground elk meat and asparagus. Elk meat tastes like beef but it is as lean as chicken. A win-win. My mom got some choice items, as well.
green city market
beaaautiful flowers that I didn’t buy
Saturday evening, Lu and I cooked that elk meat and feasted on elk burgers with guacamole and sangria. A delicious summer dinner if you ask me. I make a mean guacamole, and I’m going to share the recipe with you guys. Look for that in the upcoming post. =) The sangria was amazing, too. We tried skinny girl sangria for the first time. I highly recommend! I was worried, however, that it would be too sweet so I mixed the skinny girl sangria with half a bottle of flip flop pinot noir ($5.99/bottle and good!). The sangria was topped off with apples, oranges, grapes, pineapple, nectarines, and strawberries. So. Good.
i recommend both
the master at work
mmmmm
cheers
Sunday, I got to visit with my friend, Deana. She came over to hang out and give me the scoop on… her pregnancy! She recently shared the news that she is expecting and is due in November. I am so excited for them! Deana was glowing.

Sunday afternoon Lu and I went back to our roots and played tennis in the 90-some degree weather. I hadn’t played in about a year so needless to say it wasn’t pretty. But we had fun. I always love playing tennis with Lu because it takes me back to the days we met. On the walk home from tennis, we stopped at a playground in Grant Park because Lu wanted to try to do the monkey bars (those Crossfit folk). Remember doing monkey bars as a child? It was so easy and really fun, right? Well, it’s actually ridiculously hard now. As in, I couldn’t even do it. After failing at the monkey bars, we hopped on the swings. Now that’s something I could never forget.

We rounded out our weekend with a date night of sushi, fro-yo and a movie. I can’t complain about my adult summer because so far it has been wonderful! I have several fun activities to look forward to this summer including my very first trip to MEXICO! and KATIE’S WEDDING! I hope you all enjoyed the holiday weekend, too!

xo. ltw
One thought on “summer begins!

  1. This post made me smile from ear to ear! I laughed for a few minutes thinking about memories in your 4Runner (getting pulled over on the way home from Kate's) haha. WHEN are you going to Mexico??? We are going the Sunday after the wedding. I LOVE YOU! And I am going to try the sangria this weekend while we are packing.

talk to me

