birthday fever

My birthday yesterday was perfect. I had such a fun day that I am having difficulty adjusting to the fact that it is no longer my birthday.

You all heard about our leisurely morning. We proceeded to complete my birthday agenda and then some.  After getting my compression stalkings from Fleet Feet, we just so happened to park next to a bakery, Delightful Pastries. We had to stop in because of that rule that one must go into any bakery one is near on one’s birthday. Lu and I basically bought out the store. The chocolate dipped macaroon was the bomb.

CEP compression… wearing them now!



After the bakery, Lu and I exercised together in our condo building. I proceeded to run seven miles (for twenty-seven years) in one hour, two minutes. My planned mileage for the day was five… despite saying I wouldn’t feel guilty about indulging on my birthday, I sure did feel like a fatty after that bakery pitstop so I tacked on two extra miles. :/ My guilty conscience spoke again. 

When we were finished with the workout, it was time to get dolled up for a nice birthday evening. Lu planned dinner at Sunda. Fabulous. I love it so much it’s dangerous. My favorite dishes: brussels sprout salad, salmon jicama, salmon skin roll (best roll ever). I didn’t want it to end. 

It did end. But I wasn’t quite ready to call it a night so Lu and I went to a new bar in River North called Bub City. It is a super cool country whiskey bar right in the middle of the city. I was shocked at how packed it was for being a new establishment. The word has really gotten out about this place. When we were leaving, there was a line at the door. We are in the Midwest so you know there are some true country-lovin folk out here. They play country music with live music after 10pm and karaoke on Tuesdays. People were drinking whiskey, eating BBQ and wearing flannel. We didn’t try the food but the drinks and the ambiance were great. I sipped on a whiskey sour, tapping into my inner Kentucky girl. Lu had a Corona, tapping into his inner Mexican. No night of drinks is complete without a fine frozen margarita. We shared a pomegranate marg and then rolled out of Bub City.

bub city, all american
whiskey yall

Alas that ended, too. But I still wasn’t ready to call it a night. What was left to do? Pinkberry was left (since they stay open until 2am which is amazing). We grabbed a couple of fro-yos to go and walked home. My fro-yo of choice was grapefruit with gummy bears (obviously), candied almonds & toffee toppings. Lu had chocolate hazelnut with blueberries & strawberries. Hey friends, remember when I didn’t really like ice cream/fro-yo because it was too cold? I’m clearly over that since I just ate fro-yo in Chicago in February.

pinkberry


Let’s talk about gifts. My darling husband knew exactly what I wanted. He got me the Garmin Forerunner 210 GPS-enabled sport watch. Gone are the days of Map my Run… hallelujah. This watch will use GPS to track my run distance, my pace and calories burned in real time. It comes with computer software that allows you to upload the data from your runs onto your computer. Woo woo!! I’m in love with it!! 

Random fact: the only physical Garmin store in the world is here in Chicago.

I also got some lovely gift cards from my parents, cards in the mail and texts/phone calls from peeps I love! It was one of my best birthdays. I am so happy and I am richly blessed. My only complaint is that the whole day went entirely too fast. Happy Sunday!! 

let’s make it another great day, ltw

talk to me

