National Nutrional Month

March. What happens in March? St. Patty’s Day. Spring Break (!). My bro’s birthday. And…. National Nutrition Month sponsored by the Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics. I love the theme this year, “Eat Right, Your Way, Everyday.” Now that’s some good advice.  Check out their website here.

Everybody has their own health needs and diet is such an individualized thing. For me? I thrive on balance. I don’t do the Paleo diet, the no-carb diet, gluten free diet or no dairy diet. What I do is eat from all food groups and focus on eating clean, natural foods. This includes lots of produce, lean meats, fish, whole grains, beans, nuts, & fat-free dairy products. In general, I am constantly working on getting more protein (ah, yesterday’s post), less refined sugar, less saturated fats, and no trans fats. I truly feel better when I’m putting the best fuel into my body. Don’t you? We only have one body for this journey on earth. Let’s worship it people!

Of course I indulge in that occasional glass of red wine for the heart. Gotta get those antioxidants. 

What about coffee? I’m lovin that new study published saying that one cup of coffee each day lowers your risk of stroke by 20%. Win. 

Today’s lunch? Leftover salmon, steamed broccoli and baked sweet potato a la last night’s dinner. 

delicious & about to be in my stomach

I had an amazing Shred415 workout this morning with one of the most motivational dudes in the world, Jeremy. This afternoon I’ll be doing some fartleks. Yes I’m doing two workouts. Mostly because I have nothing else to do with my time today. I’ll also be hitting up Target in the loop. My bean is busy with school work and meetings so I’ve got to stay entertained some how.

Steve Carell on Conan last night and The Talk today kills me. He is too hilarious. xo, lw

2 thoughts on “National Nutrional Month

  1. Love love this! Molly would be so proud! She has been throwing around all of these dietetic terms and then explaining all these diseases to me that I am scared to get. Nutrition is KEY to life! Also, she is now following (and loving!) your blog. XOXO

talk to me

