the fartlek

Hi, Fartleks. I think I’m falling in love you.

Yesterday after my amazing Shred415 workout, I hit the treadmill again in the afternoon for some fartleks. I don’t even know who I am anymore. I was never into fancy running workouts. I use to just go out and run at a steady pace with minimal incline… oh the good old days. 

Fartlek means “speed play” in Swedish. It’s an exercise of unstructured interval work. The beauty of the fartlek is just that – it’s unstructured. The athlete listen’s to her body and adjusts the speed segments to keep them quite challenging but sustainable for 30-45 minutes. 

 

Here’s how my fartlek workout worked out: roughly 45 minutes of alternating 6.0mph and 8.0mph. I didn’t time or measure any of the intervals. I would just run at 8.0 until I needed a break and bring it back down to 6.0 until I felt ready to go again. I think the segments ended up being roughly a minute and a half-ish so I was changing speeds a lot on the treadmill. And listening to my jams throughout (what up Beyonce). 

My average mile pace was exactly 8:30. However, it didn’t feel too challenging since I had significantly slower paced portions of the run…. and that is why I’m falling in love with you, fartlek. It was a great run but didn’t kill me. And all of the speed changes made the time fly.  

Then I sat around with Lu last night and did some intermittent foam rolling. I’m probably not a real runner because I hate foam rolling and I usually don’t do it (rebel). We got caught up on Girls. 

Happy St Patty’s Day to all you peeps out there! I won’t be tapping into my inner Irish (boo). I wonder how many car bombs will be ingested today. You all enjoy, be safe, and make it a good one! xo,lw

talk to me

