news flash

First of all, it’s staying light outside past 7pm and that makes me smile. I think I need to stop obsessing over the weather. We have more important things to talk about. But please know that even when I’m not blogging about it, I’m dreaming of frolicking in an open field of wildflowers with the sun beating down on my face and not a care in the world. 


Yesterday, I did five miles running + one walking at a 10% incline in the new Brooks. 

News flash: Muy bueno.

At first, and this may sound weird, I felt like my heel was actually lower than my toe with the shoe on. I had a sensation that my heel was digging into the ground and my toes were elevated. The Brooks Pureflow have a 3-4mm heel-to-toe drop. The Nike Frees have a 5-6 mm drop. A couple millimeters seems miniscule but I suppose it actually makes a difference. Once I started moving, I got over that strange feeling. I ended up having a great run and really enjoyed the ride. The shoes are lightweight but have adequate cushioning. Woop woop! It’s too soon to tell if this will become my go-to shoe but so far I’m digging em. My legs are sore this morning (Hi, DOMS). I’m really looking forward to taking the next two days off (I don’t workout on work days. 730am-8pm on my feet at work = too drained to do anything but zone out in front of the tv). Saturday morning will be my long run.

Last night we had our favorite tossed chicken salad for dinner. That jumbled mess is spinach, chicken, apple, tomato, walnuts, avocado & chia seeds with Newman’s Own Oil & Vinegar (best dressing ever). I realize it looks kinda nasty in the pic. We had to keep it healthy to make up for our Yogurtland run yesterday (yep we did it. fro-yo two days in a row). Now we’re back on the low-sugar, eat-fruit-instead-of-sweets kick. Boo hoo.

goodness in a bowl

Alright guys, make today a good day. Let’s all do what we can with this day and enjoy the moment. xo, lw

6 thoughts on “news flash

talk to me

