the liebster

So there is this little thing floating out there in the blogosphere called the liebster award. It’s a fun way to tag your blogging friends and learn new things about them. Jan at Sprouts n Squats gave me a liebster nod. Thanks girl!

indexLiebster Blog Rules:

  1. Link to the person who tagged you
  2. Post 11 random things about yourself
  3. Answer the questions your tagger asked
  4. Create 11 new questions for the people you tag
  5. Nominate people for the liebster award and link them in your post
  6. Tell the peeps that you nominated!

Random things about me:

1) I don’t love talking on the phone. I mean like calling someone to talk just because. Sometimes it takes forever for me to call people back. It’s rude, I know… I’m working on it.
2) I played alto sax and piano growing up. I still tickle the ivories on occasion.
3) I hate being barefoot. You’ll always find me with socks on or my ugg slippers, even on hot summer days.
4) I didn’t take my wedding band off of my ring finger until almost one year after Lu put it on during our ceremony. My plan was to literally never take it off. The thought that Lu put it on my finger was romantic. Then one day at work, I had just washed my hands and they were super cold… my wedding band fell off! I was so upset. Then I was over it. Now I only take it off when I sleep. I should make Lu put it back on my finger every morning. hehe.
5) I wash my hair every three days. Is that gross? If I have a hard workout but it’s not a hair washing day, I’ll rinse with plain water. Water is a pretty good solvent! If I have something important going on, I’ll make exceptions to this. It’s a loose rule.
6) Breakfast is my favorite meal.
7) Lilac is my favorite flower. We had lilac bushes in our backyard growing up. They are the epitome of spring to me and will forever remind me of May Day baskets. The smell is heavenly. I will have lilacs again in my yard one day.
8) I have a pineapple intolerance! It’s really sad because I love pineapple but it makes me sick.
9) Ten years ago I couldn’t run a mile without stopping. And last year I finished my first marathon. I’m a firm believer that anyone can train to run long distances (unless an injury is involved). So much of it is about heart and the mental strength of getting out there and doing it day-after-day.
10) I grew up playing tennis (my favorite sport). Our high school team was baller. State champs! I will always have a special love for tennis because Lu and I met at a tennis clinic! It was love at love-love.
11) My name is Laura, pronounced L-a-r-a.

Questions from Jan at Sprouts n Squats:

1) What is your favorite movie? I am so not a movie person. I can’t help but fall asleep during them. I can’t even think of one movie to name right now. But I do love Friends on DVD. I have all 10 seasons.
2) How many times a week do you exercise? Usually 4 days a week. I work 12-hr shifts 3 days a week and typically don’t exercise on work days because I’m just too drained. However, during marathon training season I will amp it up.
3) How long have you been blogging? I’ve been blogging for just over one year. I started in January 2012. Last year I’d post once every couple weeks or so. This year I’ve started posting more, daily or every other day. It’s a fun hobby!
4) What skill would you like to learn? Speak another language! Especially Spanish. I’m slowly workin on that. ;)
5) What is your favorite item of clothing? Probably my yoga pants. I don’t do yoga in them.
6)  Do you have any brothers or sisters? Two brothers… one older & one younger. They’re awesome! But I always wanted a sister. Maybe in my next life.
7) Are you a morning person or a night owl? By nature I’m a morning person. With nursing and working night shift, I’ve messed up my natural rhythm and I can do anything… rise early, stay up late. I adapt.
8) How do you have your coffee or tea? I’m a coffee girl all the way. Milk, no sugar.
9) What food could you not live without? Oh boy. Where to begin…  ;) I think I’m going to say fruit. I love me some fruits.
10) What is your favorite recipe to make? I love our chicken/broccoli/quinoa/pesto bowl a la this recipe.
11)  Winter or Summer? I’ve got summer on my mind these days. But I’m a seasons girl. I love the change.

Questions for the new folks (I’m stealing a few):

1) What skill would you most like to learn?
2) What’s the best vacation you’ve ever been on?
3) What’s your favorite thing about yourself?
4) Favorite Easter candy?
5) Favorite musician?
6) Do you workout in shorts or pants?
7) Night owl or early bird?
8) What’s your ideal date-night?
9) Favorite vegetable? Favorite fruit?
10) Name something you’d put on your ‘bucket list.’
11) What’s your favorite recipe?
 I’d like to tag the following cool gals for the liebster:

Roxanne @ Tri Balance Girl

Abby @ The life and times of… One of my besties from high school. She’s crazy busy these days with a toddler & a newborn so blogging is probably on the back burner. I’m gonna go ahead and tag you anyway but you can opt out & I won’t be offended. ;)

Hope you guys had fun reading my lil responses and I hope I didn’t bore you to tears.

Today’s adgenda:

  • Back to the enormous East Bank Club for a nice workout with my poppa.
  • Grocery store.
  • Cleaning house before my sweet Lu returns.
  • Bowling & pizza tonight.
  • Enjoying this FIFTY DEGREE weather in Chicago. Thank goodness it’s not 30-some degrees anymore.

Happy Easter weekend to all you peeps out there! I hope we all have a great holiday and make this weekend a good one. & let’s all enjoy some Easter indulgences without the side of guilt. =)

xo, lw

One thought on “the liebster

  1. Pingback: Ich Liebster dich! | tribalancegirl

talk to me

