the transition from blogger to wordpress

I had been considering switching to wordpress for sometime now but the thought intimidated me. I thought I’d have to start all over. I assumed my old posts would be long gone, lost in the depths of the interweb.

I was so wrong. It was the easiest thing ever.

Export blog from blogger ~~> save on desktop ~~> import blog to wordpress ~~> hope people keep following

Who knew over a year of blogging could be condensed into one file? It made me feel that my blog is so insignificant. Ok, I realize that my blog is extremely insignificant… but it does have significance to me! I have fun in this little corner of the internet recording my thoughts and logging my days. I enjoy looking back on posts and getting a lil nostalgic. So the idea that all of my thoughts and days were put into one file was a buzz kill. I tell myself it was a large file.

Screen Shot 2013-03-28 at 8.53.21 PM

I’m still trying to navigate wordpress and I have a lot to learn about all of the features of this site. I like having more creative liberty. However, change is hard. I kind of miss my old cute beanstalk site. What do you all think of the new digs? I’ll probably experiment with the template over the next few weeks so don’t be alarmed if the site looks completely different on random days. And don’t hesitate to tell me what you like!

For those wondering. How to switch from Blogger to WordPress:

1) In your blogger account go to Settings:: other:: export blog. It will then save your blog as one file on your computer [unless you are special and get two files].

2) Create a wordpress account.

3) In wordpress, go to tools:: import. You can then upload the file from your computer onto wordpress. And there you have your blog.

TGIF, folks. This is Good Friday… you know what that means. We’re all going to have a very good day. I like it.

xo, lw

5 thoughts on “the transition from blogger to wordpress

  1. Thanks for the tips. Your posts aren’t insignificant. They are fun and entertaining for folks like me :-) Congrats on the Liebster nomination! You deserve it. You’ve inspired me to transfer over. I’ll let you know when I do.

    • That made me smile! So glad you find the posts entertaining. I love your blog! You should definitely make the transition to wordpress. It was so ridiculously easy (it even auto formatted into the new site perfectly). There are more options and it seems like a much more professional site. Actually, at first there were almost too many template choices and I was overwhelmed. Ha. But in a good way. ;)

talk to me

