spring fever

There is one specific thing that I LOVE about spring. No it’s not the cleaning. Shocker.

It’s the opening of the Farmer’s Markets.

I LOVE going to the farmer’s market on Saturday mornings. I love how the city of Chicago just shuts down a busy intersection downtown, Dearborn & Division, for the love of local produce and products. Although my favorite market in town is most likely Green City in Lincoln Park. Fresh produce in the park makes me swoon. Plus, buying local, fueling your local economy and reducing your carbon footprint is amazing. It is a little pricy but it’s definitely worth it. I’m still waiting for that endless cash flow to start happening….

One of our favorite finds at Green City is elk meat from this guy. Elk meat is a red meat that looks like steak but it’s not marbled and therefore has less fat. It’s lean and flavorful. I’m looking forward to enjoying some guacamole elk burgers and sangria with the bean this spring… It’s turning into a spring/summer tradition.

Do you have the opportunity to buy local? Do you all try to buy food when it’s in season or do you think ‘it’s in season somewhere’? Living in America and having ample access to food, it’s easy to forget that certain fruits/veggies aren’t always in season despite the fact that it’s always on the grocery shelf. I’m trying to be aware of seasonal foods but it does get tempting at the grocery store when you just want those darn imported grapes. Or that mango. I’m pretty sure mango is never in season in the Midwest. Mango was my impulse I-just-gotta-have-it buy at Costco. I’m taking a trip to the tropics in my head with this tasty afternoon snack right now. Oh I wish I was in the tropics. On a beach. Margarita in hand. Back to reality. Check out this seasonality chart.

photo-3

While we’re on the topic of food & the environment, we’d be amiss to not mention meat. Now I’m not trying to discourage anyone from eating meat. As humans, we’re on the top of the food chain and I truly think that lean meats are healthy and necessary for us. With that said, meat is basically the worst offender for the environment. Ay caramba! Check out this list of the ten worst foods from this article in the huffington post [the following was taken directly from the article]:

10. Potatoes: At 2.9 kg of greenhouse gases produced for ever kg eaten, potatoes are the most environmentally unfriendly vegetable out there.

9. Eggs: For every kilogram of eggs consumed, 4.8 kg of greenhouse gases are produced.

8. Canned Tuna: With 6.1 kg of greenhouse gases produced for every kg of canned tuna, this item makes the list because two-thirds of its carbon footprint comes from product emissions.

7. Chicken: From McNuggets to a cordon bleu, chicken in all of its parts make up roughly one-third of the world’s meat intake.

6. Turkey: Sure it’s great for holiday meals, but it might be harder to give thanks this Thanksgiving after learning that one kilogram of turkey contributes to 10.9 kg of greenhouse gases.

5. Farmed Salmon: Fans of seafood are in a tough position. Eating wild salmon is frowned upon due to overfishing, but farmed salmon, which is designed to help wild salmon repopulate, comes with a carbon footprint of 11.9kg /kg of salmon.

4. Pork: It’s the most popular type of meat consumed by the world, according to the United Nations.

3. Cheese: It may surprise you that the third highest producer of greenhouse gases isn’t an animal or vegetable, it’s cheese.

2. Beef: With 27 kg of carbon dioxide and methane produced for every kilogram eaten, beef would be the runner up if there ever was a largest carbon footprint pageant.

1. Lamb: Lambs are cute. The 39.2 kg of greenhouse gases it takes to eat one kilogram? Not as cute.

Hopefully with time processes will become better, more efficient and more eco-friendly. But until then I think it’s important to be informed and make smart decisions when we can. Whatever little thing you do is important.

In other news, Lu rode an elephant in Nepal. I got to hear all of his fun and wild stories last night. It’s great to have that man home.

photo-3 copy

Hope everybody is having a nice day! Make it good.

xo, lw

3 thoughts on “spring fever

  1. Ben and I start going to the farmers market weekly when spring rolls around and I just LOVE the idea of supporting local while eating some of the most delicious foods! <3

  2. I LOVE elephants. They are my FAVORITE animal. So jealous! Glad the hubs is home.
    When I lived in Cali, we had several farmers markets in the local area. Fresh fruits, nuts, breads, veggies, etc. LOVED LOVED LOVED and totally miss in every way. Haven’t found one yet and I’m not sure if I will. Enjoy spring!

talk to me

