I’m attempting something crazy. Again.

It’s no secret that I have a wicked sweet tooth. I can’t help it. I just love sweets, and I feel like I’m constantly trying to cut back. I usually do pretty good at home because I don’t invite my nemesis inside. But when sweets are around? Look out. I’m definitely an all-or-nothing type when it comes to some sugar. Eat half of a candy bar? Impossible. It’d be far easier for me to eat none than to eat half. Or would it? Oh shucks.

d83740d11c449fecb3423e1f3f91d98352

With that said, I’m doing it again. I’m cutting out sweets cold turkey and this time I’m not doing it alone. Kelly [my friend and little brother’s girlfriend] and I are cleansing our bodies of sugar. Let’s actually call it a pseudo-cleanse and clarify something. We’re not going psycho with this. We’re cutting out the obvious sugary sweet foods, candies, cakes, treats of all sorts but we are not going to scrutinize every carb we eat or avoid natural sugars (aka fruit). We’re just going to say a polite “no, thank you” when somebody offers us chocolate at work, which is a nearly every day occurrence.

As you may know, this has been difficult for me in the past. I last a week or so and then I wonder why I am depriving myself of such joy. I inevitably give in and eat the licorice. Then I have eater’s remorse and ask myself why I ate the licorice. It’s a vicious cycle. I’m excited for this challenge with Kelly. I’ve got my game face on.

The situation: No sweets until Kelly’s Tough Mudder race on May 17th.

The plan of action: I’ll reach for some fruit when I need to satisfy my sweet tooth.

The reason: Why are we doing this? Sugary sweets are nothing but empty calories. Sure they trigger a pleasure center in our brains but so do other tasty yet healthy foods. I love oranges as much as I love chocolate. Why not eat the orange instead?

1345007091774_3616162

Anybody want to hop on this bandwagon?

Last night several of us got together and went out to celebrate my mom on her birthday. Birthdays + sushi + wine = a very good evening. Birthdays are fun. Yes I had a piece of that red velvet cake. I went out with a bang.

photo-20Today I’m doing some speed work on the treadmill. I can’t decide if I want to do half mile sprints or mile sprints. That will probably be a game time decision and I’ll just do whatever my little heart desires once I get down to the gym. Are you exercising today? Whatever you’re up to, make it a good day!

xo, lw

4 thoughts on “I’m attempting something crazy. Again.

  1. I am luckily not a huge sweet craver. I do, however, crave savory/salty things like chips. I just don’t keep them in the house. Substituting fruit is a great idea!!

    Hopefully doing a 10 mile trail run with my sister tonight. It’s a scorcher out, though, so we’ll see if I last…

  2. Pingback: on the bandwagon | the beanstalk

talk to me

