a recipe for you

Last night I was inspired to make something exciting and new. Lu and I usually have the same old dinners and while they’re good, they do get a little bit boring some nights. I had a random craving for stuffed shells yesterday. I looked at various recipes online and couldn’t find the right one so I ended up creating my own. I had inspiration from this recipe. Let’s call my concoction protein stuffed shells because that’s what I was looking for… a stuffed shell with some protein added instead of the simple cheese & spinach.

Protein Stuffed Shells:

Ingredients:
15 jumbo shells (I looked for whole wheat but couldn’t find them. That would be ideal.)
2 Tbsp. olive oil
2 cloves garlic
5 cups uncooked spinach
2 chicken breasts, shredded
1 cup quinoa
1 jar tomato & basil tomato sauce
2 1/2 cups 1% fat small curd cottage cheese
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
1 egg
1 tsp. italian seasoning
1 tsp. freshly cracked pepper

Directions:
Bake plain chicken breasts in 350 degree oven until done. Cook shells according to directions. Cook quinoa. Heat olive oil in skillet and saute garlic. Add spinach and cook until wilted. Let the spinach cool and shred the chicken.

In a bowl, mix together cottage cheese, shredded chicken, quinoa, sauteed spinach, parmesean cheese, beaten raw egg, italian seasoning and pepper. Spread a layer of tomato sauce on the bottom of a casserole dish. Fill shells with aforementioned mixture. Line them up in your casserole dish and cover with the rest of the tomato sauce.

Put in a 350 degree oven for 40 minutes. Enjoy!

Here’s my amateur iPhone photo that actually makes the dish look kind of nasty but I felt like I should post a pic. This is all I got and it was obviously after we served ourselves. The conclusion… it was quite good and very filling. I’ll make it again sometime. Taking leftovers for lunch today.

photo-20

Have you guys made any tasty dishes this week? Do you like cooking? I enjoy cooking and I don’t even mind cleaning up. The big frijol sure got lucky.

Yesterday’s workout:
2 mile warm-up
1 mile sprint (6:47)
1 mile recovery
1 mile sprint (6:44)
2 mile cool-down

Then I did a whole lot of stretching and foam rolling. Good girl. Now I’m enjoying my oatmeal and coffee on this rainy, nasty morning. Make it a good day!

xo, lw

talk to me

