Look for the helpers + Congratulate the winners

521693_645199098842880_1528049914_nMr Rogers, you are always right. Let’s look for the helpers. Let’s all be helpers. Some running bloggers are suggesting wearing a race shirt to come together as a running community and support Boston (HRG, Tri Balance Girl). Donate blood. Volunteer at a local race. Pray for those affected.

Darkness cannot drive out darkness, only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate, only love can do that. ~ Martin Luther King Jr.

I also want to take a moment to congratulate the winners and the finishers of the Boston Marathon. Even qualifying for that marathon is a big deal. I am personally proud of everybody who ran it. It would be a dream to one day run Boston.

#1 Male: Lelisa Desisa (Ethiopia) finished in 02:10:22

#1 Female: Rita Jeptoo (Kenya) finished in 02:26:25

I have a girl crush on Kara Goucher, who ran for my alma mater University of Colorado. Kara finished sixth in 02:28:11. Another favorite American, Shalane Flanagan, finished fourth in 02:27:08.

Today I’ll run, and I’ll be thinking about Boston. What are you doing? I’m also getting my hairs cut for the first time since early December. Hello ratty ends. I’m ready for a fresh look.

Hug your loved ones today. Life is too short and unpredictable. Let’s all make today a good day.

xo, lw

4 thoughts on “Look for the helpers + Congratulate the winners

  1. We saw the first runners come in, just as we have the past couple of years, and it is always so cool and fun. It always makes me teary–just the excitement of it all and the way everyone is rooting for each other. We left basically the exact spot of the bombing 45 minutes before it happened with our two babies, and it just gives me chills. Such a sad day. Thanks for the post.

talk to me

