a greenish smoothie for you.

Say hello to my new favorite smoothie concoction. Let’s call it the Greenish Smoothie. It’s refreshing. It’s healthy. It’s sort-of green… Yep, it’s actually brown but since it has some quality greens in it, it deserves that green recognition all of the cool smoothies get.

photo-36

Here are the ingredients. I’m giving approximate measurements but what I really do is just throw in random amounts of the following yummy foods….

2 cups-ish of spinach
3 large kale leaves
1/4 cup blackberries
1/4 cup frozen blueberries
1/2 banana
1/2 apple
1/2 orange
ice cubes. about 8- 10
very cold water. about 1/2 a cup
a spoonful of almond butter (*key ingredient. why? because nut butter is the best thing ever.)

It may float your boat to add some protein powder to this smoothie. I use to. But now I’m a little freaked out by protein powder because it seems unnatural and I don’t even know how in the heck it’s made. The ingredients are strange. But by all means, throw some in if that’s your jam. To each his own.

There’s a method to this smoothie. Don’t just put it all in at once. I first put in the fruits and ice then blend. After that is liquified, I throw in the greens and a spoonful of almond butter. Blend. Then add cold water last to make it the consistency you desire. Holy yum.

I like to drink this as part of a meal. It’s a quick and easy way to get a boatload of fresh fruits/veggies into your day. Mmm. Anybody have some favorite smoothie recipes to share?

Have a great Monday. Whatever it is you’re doing today, do it with enthusiasm! And make your day a good one.

xo, lw

12 thoughts on “a greenish smoothie for you.

  1. This sounds very nutritious! The only thing I wonder about – with all the smoothies that are so popular – is whether or not they contain more calories than we realize. (Not that you need to be concerned about that!!!)

    • Um, I definitely need to be concerned about that… but this particular smoothie is actually two servings so split those ingredients in half & I don’t think it’s that bad…

    • I think it is ok to be concerned about calories in smoothies – I try to avoid shop bought smoothies for this reason (as they somehow can pack about 5 times the amount of what I put in when I make them at home?!) and try to include plenty of greens so that they stay balanced.

      Anywho, that smoothie looks great! I’m currently sipping on a ‘brown smoothie’ too – strawberries, blueberries, half a banana, and a generous handful of spinach, yum :) !

      • I think you’re right — homemade smoothies are way healthier! A smoothie bar I use to frequent uses frozen yogurt and sweeteners. That’s just unnecessary when the fruit/veggies are amazing on their own! Brown smoothies are the bomb. :)

  2. thanks to the recipe! I am horrible with getting my veggies in… like real bad . I am probably a walking carb. Maybe my daughter might even like it!

    • I think you’ll enjoy this because you cannot even tell the greens are in there! I will admit though, it’s not super sweet so if your daughter likes sweet things you could maybe add a touch of honey or something like that.
      Homemade smoothies are so good & so easy. You can basically throw in whatever you have & like. Plus, it would be nice and refreshing on an 80+degree day like today! Woo!

  3. Pingback: summer solstice | the beanstalk

talk to me

