sometimes i make strange decisions

Well today is Sunday, which means another long run.  This week, I had 11 miles on the agenda. I would actually consider an 11 mile run to be a medium-length run so I wasn’t feeling overwhelmed. I was looking forward to getting out and enjoying the nice, sunny Chicago weather.

Then I made a strange decision.

I decided to wear my lululemon running tights and head out shortly before noon on what turned out to be one of the hottest days of the year… So by strange decision I actually mean really bad decision… It was 85 and sunny and I was the idiot in black pants.

At about mile six, just after turning around, fatigue hit. My heart was fine. My lungs were fine. My muscles were fine. But I was overheated and as dried up as Amanda Byne’s career. It was brutal. I had to stop for water at least half a dozen times. Of course I got nervous that I was drinking too much water and losing too many electrolytes. I don’t bring fuel unless I’m going over 13 miles so I really had nothing to help me at this point except my will… and my momma.

My sweet momma came along for the ride and rode her bike while I ran. It was so nice having her there. I eventually stole a sip of her gatorade. Here is a picture she snapped during our return to the city. That little black speck is me. What a gorgeous day.

photo-83

I finished the run, albeit slower than what I would have liked. 11 miles in 01:44:00 = 9:27 min/mile average. That pace is about thirty seconds slower than my goal marathon pace but I’m not beating myself up about it. That time does include many stops at various water fountains. I learned today that there is a long stretch on the lake front, just south of 35th street, that doesn’t have a water fountain for about a mile and a half. I found myself cursing the city of Chicago for overlooking that little area. But I survived. What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger.
Who else did a long run today? Anybody do it in pants?

It’s time for me to get a new pair of running shoes. I love Brooks Pure Flow. What color do you guys like? Black or purple?

Screen Shot 2013-06-23 at 2.49.58 PM

Screen Shot 2013-06-23 at 2.50.02 PM

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve been hydrating like crazy since I’ve been home to avoid a dehydration headache later. I hope you guys are enjoying this weekend and these lovely summer days. Make them good.

xo, lw

11 thoughts on “sometimes i make strange decisions

  1. I saw a guy wearing full length black tights today and felt real bad for him. I had on shorts and felt they were even too long. I’m struggling to eat enough today with this heat!
    I did my Sunday 13.
    Enjoy your evening!

      • Yes, I find they make a difference. I first started off by making sure I had a Pint of water before a long run and then I got a couple of samples of Superhydro in a marathon pack I bought and I found, you could tell it made a difference. Certainly worth giving them a go, as if they do the same for you, you wont regret buying them,

  2. I thought I replied, but I guess I never hit send. Get the purple for sure. Guess what I got? The pink pureflows and I love them! Thank you for the suggestion/recommendation. BTW… great run! I think your pace is fine. You are going to rock the marathon!

    • I’m so glad you love them!! To be honest… I haven’t had the PureFlow 2s yet… I have the original PureFlows but I’m going to order a a pair of the 2s today. I’m SO glad you like them! I love the pink color.
      Thanks for the support girl…You gonna rock your marathon, too!

talk to me

