Marathon Training: Week 2 review

Time for the first (of what will become weekly) marathon training update! Woop woop.

But before we get to the running recap, I have a confession. Please don’t judge me. I skipped a run last week. Let me explain… It’s hard for me to run more than three miles on a work day. I leave for work at 7am and get home from work in between 8:30 and 9:00pm.  After spending most of the day on my feet and moving patients, I usually have close to no energy when I get home. Excuses, excuses. I’m working on it! One of the things I’m considering is doing two runs on days I’m off work. I welcome your tips and advice.

I also switched my rest day. I did increase Wednesday’s scheduled five miles to seven miles in anticipation that I might skip a run… I know myself too well.

Now to the recap. I am trying to push myself with speed on the shorter runs. I did June 18th’s run on the treadmill because it was rainy in Chicago. Sometimes I feel like I can push my speed harder on the treadmill than when I’m outside. Anybody with me on this one? Overall, I was satisfied with last week except for the obvious disappointment.

DioxPurpleLightA

There you have last week’s running recap. I started week three with a bang and had a great run this morning before breakfast. Now I better get my housewife on and clean up our apartment. Have a great day you guys!

xo, lw

7 thoughts on “Marathon Training: Week 2 review

  1. When you run on the treadmill, do you add a little elevation to make up for the downward type run you get on its default setting?
    You know my response.. morning running! Still a solid week of training!
    Enjoy your day!

    • I just don’t know if I can get up that early!! Especially knowing I’d have a 12 hour work day after… but maybe I’ll give it a try one day. ;)

      I do put a 1-2% incline on the treadmill. I don’t think it’s easier for me but it’s easier to stick with the speed because I can’t naturally slow down without turning down the machine. I think I unknowingly start to fatigue and slow down outside… Or maybe it’s mental. I don’t know. What I do know is I love running outside WAY more than the treadmill!

  2. Love these weekly run recaps. I need to log my miles because it’s a great way to see how you progress throughout the training season. You do know yourself too well, but I don’t judge you. Busy ladies, busy lives… you always deserve some R&R. I prefer morning runs, so that may be the ticket. Speaking of housewife… are you keeping up with the RHOOC?

  3. I don’t know how you do it. I don’t know how you have enough strength left at the end of your day to say woop, woop.

talk to me

