for the love of tennis

Wimbledon. The prestigious Wimbledon. It’s sprinkled with polo shirt-wearing, tea-drinking, pinky-finger-lifting proper folk. It’s a place where commoners and royals commingle for the love of tennis. It’s a place I want to be.

But these days, Wimbledon has turned into crazy town. Who’s watching with me?

wimbledon-logo-1600x1200

Nadal. Tsonga. Sharapova. Azarenka. All defeated. But the biggest upset of all was definitely my boy Roger losing in the second round to basically a tennis nobody. Fed hadn’t failed to reach a major tournament quarterfinal since Roland Garros in 2003. That’s a decade of advancing to at least the quarter finals… also known as world domination. Let’s take a moment of silence for this tennis player extraordinaire, Roger Federer. The man has won 17 grand-slam titles and has been the Wimbledon champ seven times. As usual, he was a gracious loser but he did admit this was a tough loss, “Got to get over this one. Some haven’t hurt this much, that’s for sure,” Federer said earlier today. I’m truly sad he’s out. Since we can no longer cheer on the Federer express, I’ll pull for Novak Djokovic, who is a stellar athlete. Winning this title should be a cakewalk for him now.

I love tennis. Tennis was my sport growing up. Here are some throwback pictures from my high school days. We were state champs. No big deal.

tennis

tennis1

tennis3

I played in some tennis leagues in college. I met my husband at a tennis clinic. It’s a great sport and has had an impact in my life (dramatic much?). Who plays tennis? Who’s watching Wimbledon? What’s your favorite grand-slam to watch? Hope you guys made this Wednesday a good one!

xo, lw

4 thoughts on “for the love of tennis

  1. I used to LOVE tennis a lot more. Quick story! In highschool, i was NOT in shape or athletic. I was just tall and liked basketball. I needed sports credits (private school), so I joined the tennis team. Now everyone made it since there weren’t a ton of people. They didn’t really teach me how to do anything as I wasn’t going to be playing any scored matches, but i slowly learned on my own. I become amazing at the net with my Walmart racquet. I ended up getting team MVP! for my spirit and enthusiasm ! In college i got significantly better as I made friends with people much better than I and we’d play every day (new orleans was almost always tennis weather). We’d even skip class to play. I never really got a consistent serve though :( . Since college, my playtime has dwindled and now I almost never play, but do have like 3 racquets (i have spares in case a friend wants to play and doesn’t have one) and unopened contains of balls. Not sure when I’ll play again, but the <3 for it is still there.
    With that, I rarely get to watch tv, so I haven't been watching Wimbledon.

    • That’s awesome!! MVP, woop woop!! Tennis is so fun but it definitely can be frustrating if you’re having a bad day or playing in wind.
      I agree, serving is tough. I remember practicing my serve for hours in the summer growing up. It was still usually hit or miss. Oh the good old days. =)

talk to me

