my garmin stats + other tidbits from today’s run

I’ve been using my Garmin for outdoor running religiously since the big frijol gave it to me for my birthday earlier this year. It revolutionized the way I track my runs and my progress. No more sitting at the computer, mapping out a route on MapMyRun.com. And heaven forbid if I veered from the planned route, I’d have to map it all over again when I got home. Tedious. Now I just strap on my watch, locate satellites (which I’ll admit can sometimes take an annoyingly long time) and hit the pavement.

Today I went onto the Garmin website to create an account and download software. I then plugged my Garmin into my computer for the first time ever (cue: angels singing). I didn’t even realize how much that thing tracks. It give me each mile split, the fastest pace I hit, elevation, calories… Information overload.

Here’s a clip of today’s 6 mile run.

Screen Shot 2013-07-02 at 2.48.39 PM

Please note today’s temperature. 66 degrees with a 10mph wind. Plus, it was drizzling the whole run. Summer weather that is not. I’m going to go ahead and say that this is one of the worst summers. We’ve only had a handful of really hot days. There have been too many days of rain and fall-like temps. Bummer! I wish I was out on the west coast feeling some of that record-setting heat. Or maybe I don’t… No, I do.

During my run, I saw a man searching for treasure with a metal detector on North Avenue beach. Good luck to him.

I was also given an opportunity for my big break into television. As I was approaching North Ave beach, I was flagged down by a couple bold men who dared to stop a girl during her workout. I kind of acted like I didn’t see them at first but once they were within an arm’s reach I couldn’t really ignore them (politely, that is) since I was running sans music. One man said, “Hey. We’re from the Today Show and we’re doing a story on holiday travel. What are your holiday travel plans?” Then I realized they had a camera and a whole setup around the corner. So, I told them my 4th of July plans… nothing. Then he said, “Ok, well can you tell us about a different holiday travel experience?” I got nothing. Stage fright. I think I muttered something like, “Uhh, nothing really sticks out. I don’t travel that much…” They looked at me like I was idiot. Then I asked if they were from the Today Show in NYC and proceeded to tell them I’m a fan before going on my way. It was a strange exchange. That could have been my national television debut. I blew it.

I’ve now run with my new sneakers, the PureFlow 2s, several times. I hate to admit this but I don’t love them as much as I love the original PureFlows. They’re still a great shoe but I wish they hadn’t made so many changes. I can’t even pinpoint what it is that I don’t love but something is different. Anybody using the PureFlows or a different Brooks shoe? What do you think?

photo-81

photo-82

I picked up an overtime shift at work tomorrow so I’ll make a little extra dough before the holiday. Anyone have fun 4th of July plans? I’m hoping to BBQ and hang with family. Hope you guys have made this Tuesday a good one. Talk to ya soon!

Sending my prayers to the families of the 19 fallen firefighters in Arizona. They are heroes.

xo, lw

7 thoughts on “my garmin stats + other tidbits from today’s run

  1. Those are some good time splits, esp with your last mile being the fastest! Well done!

    And nice trainers, I like the blue , very cool. I’m wearing New Balance at the moment

      • I once read you should make the last three of your long run the fastest, so I now try and finish all my runs fast. And yes it is tough going!

        I don’t stick to any running brand. Usually I go down to the running shop and try around five pairs on, using the treadmill to see which ones I like the best. Saying that, this is the second time I’ve had New Balance and I do like them, I find them quite comfy.

  2. You crack me up, girl! I giggled out loud at the Today Show part :) Glad you’re finally using your watch to some more of its potential – now you just need the Heart Rate Monitor! I’m going to go for a run in a few minutes in before it gets to be 90 degrees here in VA. Miss ya and wishing Chicago good weather…mild weather blows.

talk to me

