hello there.

Well hello. It has been a while… Don’t worry it’s me, not you. It’s hard to keep up with this blog thing during the summer months because of trips, birthdays & my desire to be outside (instead of in front of the computer) as often as possible. But I’m back. For now, at least…

Let’s start with a quick recap of the last couple weeks.

Last weekend I went back to Austin, TX but this time I had the big frijol in tow. We celebrated Lu’s birthday there and hung with my college bestie. It was another fabulous long weekend in a fun city, and I came home with no less than fifty bug bites to prove it. We went to a local dive bar for some live music, hit up Barton Springs, kayaked on Lady Bird Lake, ate our way through multiple food trucks (including this one) and still managed to workout every day. I’m kind of sad to be back to reality.

photo-85

photo-92

photo-53

photo-86

photo-91

Lu noticed that our spot at Barton Springs looked like a real life version of Seurat’s A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grand Jatte, which just so happens to be displayed in the Art Institute of Chicago.

photo-88

photo-90

photo-93

And there you have our Austin trip. Until next time, ATX. On to other updates…

My big bro moved to Los Angeles, and we miss him. Talk about a far move. But it’s also an exciting move for him, and I’m very happy he gets to start a fun new chapter in his life. He may just be the next big thing out there. I’ve never been to LA, and I can’t wait to go visit later this fall.

I’ve eaten my weight in sushi this summer. I love Sushi Dokku almost as much as I love Toro. The first step is admitting I have a problem. Yes, I have a sushi problem.

I joined a gym. I have finally accepted that I don’t consistently cross-train or weight lift on my own. I need classes and more options than what we have in our skimpy apartment fitness center because all I seem to consistently do on my own is run. My body needs more well-rounded activity.

Speaking of running, I’ve been going strong with marathon training. I’m not going to bore you guys with a recap of all the runs that I’ve done since we last talked but let it be known there have been some good ones, some bad ones, some skipped runs and some extra runs. Of course, I’m still having to tweak the training schedule a lil bit to fit my needs. For example, I did my long run yesterday instead of Sunday since I wasn’t about to run 16 miles in the Texas heat. Yesterday’s run: 16 miles in 02:24:44 (9:02 min/mile average). My average moving pace (pace without water stops) was 8:57 min/mile.

I want to expand on yesterday’s run… It was the best long run I have ever done. For the first time, I really made an effort to carb load and hydrate before the run. I had a bagel the night before in the Detroit airport, my usual oatmeal in the morning and a second bagel with nut butter about 2 hours before the run. I didn’t have a “hit the wall” moment, and I never really felt like I needed to stop. Whereas in the past, I would usually start dragging at about 13 or 14 miles. Added bonus – my pace was the fastest pace I’ve had for a long run yet. Call me dumb but I was honestly surprised how much carb loading and hydrating helped. In the words of the big frijol, preparation is key!

So what’s new with you guys? Hope you’re making today a good day. I’m glad to be back around these parts.

xo, lw

4 thoughts on “hello there.

  1. I was wondering what happened to my fellow bean blogger! Thanks for the update and great job with the long run and the fueling properly!!
    whats new? jeez, July is almost over, that sucks. But training good! Keep it up!

  2. Yummm sushi dokku!! P.s. there is a lady who stands in soho here cutting fresh mango… Perhaps we should send her to sushi dokku and combine two beautiful things!? Also- 16 miles?! You cray!!!

talk to me

