summer solstice

Happy Summer Solstice to you. Summer has officially arrived in the northern hemisphere. Chicago will have 15 hours and 13 minutes of sunlight today with the sunrise at 5:16am and a sunset at 8:29pm. After today we start the slow decent into darkness, as the days get shorter and shorter… But let’s not think about that now. Let’s enjoy these long summer days and warm summer nights. It’s finally going to be in the 90s in Chicagoland this weekend. Maybe I’ll roll my windows down and cruise to some Florida Georgia Line (loving that song right now. Who’s with me?). What are you doing to enjoy summer? Who wants to celebrate by getting sushi with me?

Summer-Solstice-Stonehenge-1024x380

While we’re talking about the elements, has anyone heard of a supermoon? A supermoon is the closest full moon of the calendar year, which means it appears bigger and brighter to the little people on earth. A supermoon will rise in the night sky this weekend. Keep an eye out for this lunar wonder.

supermoon-2013-dates-and-when-to-watch

What have I done on this summer solstice morning? I woke up and did my training run before breakfast. I’m trying to run before breakfast as often as possible because I keep finding articles online that suggest exercising on empty improves glucose tolerance. After the run, I came home and enjoyed some of this:

photo-67

Those are scrambled egg whites with a veggie sausage patty, avocado, a sprinkle of feta cheese and cholula. I also mixed up one of my greenish smoothies. Good stuff.

MjAxMi03MTg0MjVhOTA3MjY0MGUx

What’s happening in your world today? Hope you’re making this summer day a good one!

xo, lw

5 thoughts on “summer solstice

  1. I saw that super moon stuff on WGN this morning! Very cool. Maybe the super moon is causing the super gnat army to be everywhere by the lakefront.

    Today is my wedding anniversary! So mom in law came into town to watch the kid and we’ll go out and relax later than 7pm! (and be tired by 8…womp womp)
    How was your training run? If you saw someone look like a crashing car on the path this morning, that was certainly me in my run of agony!

    Have a wonderful Friday!

    • I hate the gnats! Looked like a crashing car… ha. You crack me up. I’ll never see you out running because you run waaaay too early for this girl.
      Happy [belated] anniversary!

talk to me